The Kennedy/Marshall Company

In 1991, Kennedy and Marshall ventured out on their own to form The Kennedy/Marshall Company, where the duo continued to produce critically acclaimed films such as The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and the international hit franchise based on Robert Ludlum’s The Bourne Identity

Marshall’s accomplishments in the film industry have resulted in five Academy Award nominations for producing titles as diverse as M. Night Shyamalan’s The Sixth Sense to Gary Ross’s Seabiscuit. In addition to his Oscar nominations, Marshall has been acknowledged for his work with UCLA’s Alumni Professional Achievement Award, the California Mentor Initiative’s Leadership Award, and the acclaimed American Academy of Achievement Award. Along with Kennedy, Marshall was the 2008 recipient of the Producers Guild of America’s David O. Selznick Award for Career Achievement. A year later, the duo was lauded with the Visual Effects Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award. In November 2018, he and Kennedy received the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, an honor presented to creative producers “whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.” 

Aside from his Hollywood legacy, his love of sports and philanthropy led him to serve as a member of the United States Olympic Committee for more than a decade. Marshall was bestowed with the Olympic Shield in 2005 in honor of his service to the committee and the Olympic movement; and, three years later, Marshall was inducted into the United States Olympic Hall of Fame. He also serves as Board Chair of the US Center for SafeSport and the Archer School for Girls, and on the board of several philanthropic organizations including Athletes for Hope and LA’s Promise Fund. 

In 2012, Marshall took over as the sole principal of The Kennedy/Marshall Company when partner Kathleen Kennedy became Chairman of Lucasfilm Ltd.